Breanna – F2016 Weeks 4&5

Time seems to be flying faster and faster each week.  I’ve spent the last two busily emailing graduate school professors and admissions staff, attempting to put together my personal and academic statements, and borderline failing to keep all of the schools I’m applying to straight.  It’s harder than you’d think, really.

I’ll be taking the GRE this Thursday so please send me happy thoughts and memories from high school math class.  I’ll also be solidifying my resume, making a formal draft of my statements, and talking to several profs here about the best strategy for submitting personal recommendations.  Even this isn’t as simple as I’d like it to be.

But – guess what?!  I’ll actually be doing some science over Reading Period!

The “new” manuscript will finally be in my hands for a few hours and I’ll get to hold my breath while trying to fit it under the Raman microscope.  If all goes well, I’ll be doing some good ‘ole pigment identification which will get me all geared up for presenting this past summer’s research at Midstates.  That’s coming up soon, too!

Until then, I’ll be losing sleep over grad school apps and constantly reminding myself of this advice from my patron saint Gillian Anderson: “Just remember, you can do anything you set your mind to, but it takes action, perseverance, and facing your fears.”

 

Leave a Reply

