Breanna – F2016, Weeks 2 & 3

Well, the plan to front-load grad school applications and other things related to life after Lawrence is definitely still applicable.  Allison has been in contact with UW Oshkosh and has already gone to visit, but because I won’t really be of any use (vacuum tubes???) I’ll be somewhat out of the picture for a little while.

In the meantime, I’ve been emailing grad schools left and right and trying to narrow down my options.  Ironically, this has actually increased my intended by +2 for a grand total of 7 (although I haven’t talked with Allison about this yet, and I’m sure she’ll give me at least a little bit of an eyebrow raise). Great.  I’ve also taken a practice test for the GRE and have pretended to study up on my high school math (really, I’ve been drowning in Excel for analytical chem).  I’ll be taking another practice test in the next two weeks after I find time to re-learn all those sneaky little rules!

Also, in the coming weeks I’ll expect to start getting my poster ready for Midstates.  Other than that, it’s kind of up in the air – we don’t know whether we’ll be able to get excited about MALDI by sometime this term or not.  If not, then my attention will be focused on the “new” manuscript.

Leave a Reply

