Scaling it Up

This week was mainly focused around figuring out how the scaling procedure works. The hardest part of this was interpreting and analyzing Allison’s dissertation which, although it provides a lot of useful information on the general procedure, seems to a lack a specific procedure. I spent most of my time trying to figure out how the reference curve works, something I had struggled with conceptually earlier. I was even more chagrined when I found out you could not program an equation for an excel tread line.  I talked to Allison and found out that we use a polynomial function instead, and interpret the terms of the quadratic equation as being part of the first 3 terms of Taylor series expression for ex. I managed to calculate the activation energies for each family member, but they seem to linearly decrease which seems quite troubling to me. I hopefully will have more answers in the meeting later today.

Leave a Reply

