LaTex: The Esperanto of the Universe

Much in the way Esperanto was the official language of a micronation known as the Republic of Rose Island in 1968, LaTex is the language of chemistry in the 21st century.

My time this week has been spent learning the delicacies of the language, putting what I’ve written into lovely LaTex form. The equations get an A+. Other than making the changes that Allison and I discussed at our meeting, I’ve typed up all I have so far (including some other fancy new stuff like the scaling procedure [in progress] and additions to the results section [even more in progress].)

Other things I’ve done in convenient list form include:

-Calculated molar conductivities for the TMAA-TFSAs. Looks unusual as a function of N/T, will bring it up in meeting Tuesday.

-Updated figures (many updates to come..)

-Read through Ratner’s chapter in “Polymer Electrolyte Reviews” in order to help put the task at hand (describing diffusion in ionic liquids) in perspective. What did I learn? The jury is still out and the questions I want to have answered are some tough ones to answer.

-Read through the diffusion section in Hiroyuki Ohno’s IL book which was equally helpful for understanding where the experts stand on diffusion in ionic liquids — that stuff is complicated, man.

To update all of ya’ll from my post last week: I did not go to Chicago. No burrito for me, but I did go on a ORC trip to Devil’s Lake for 2 days. Good geology, nice running, fun friends, and fond mems. *sigh*

Last thing!!!

I may have isolated the origins of the word “dope” in the skiing/snowboarding community;  apparently, it was used to describe a secret waxing formula (sperm oil, paraffin, vegetable oil, pitch) used by California skiers during the gold rush at their ski races.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

