The Liquid Cell & My Hopes and Dreams

My work this week was completely in lab!! (Yay!!) I prepared two solutions of 0.035molal TbaTf in 1-hexanol in the glove box and then ran both of them through the liquid cell, and I was even able to encounter my first instrumental malfunction this Saturday when the MiniStat stayed at 5 degrees C for over 8 hours. Luckily that was quickly resolved Sunday morning when for some reason it worked perfectly fine, but given this, I was able to learn a lot more about the LabView program since I spent most of Saturday attempting to troubleshoot my malfunction. I have not had time to look over the CAE paper, but given that my meeting is tomorrow afternoon, I expect that I will be able to spend about three hours rereading it, in special hopes of reviewing the scaling procedure that we discussed in last weeks meeting.

In my first week in lab I was able to encounter some of the wonders of working in an experimental lab. Like spending three hours in the lab and going back to my dorm, to sit and wonder whether I took off the plastic caps after cleaning the liquid cell before I put it in the oven, and deciding that it was in my best interest to double check (luckily I had removed them before putting them in the oven). And discovering that there is a hole at the bottom of the liquid cell where a screw should go after trying to fill it with my solution, and having it drip out onto the ground, and lastly, my person favorite, getting reacquainted with the workings of Microsoft XP OS which I had thought had been outlawed in most first world countries by 2010. I am sure these wonders will continue to present themselves as I continue further with my work in the lab.

On another interesting note, I was in my class High Temperature Geochemistry when a variation of the Simple Arrhenius expression came up to describe the activation of trace metal ion transport in magmas and I could not help but day dream about attempting, one day, to describe ion transport in magmas using the CAF and how one, with enough funding of course, could attempt to test this experimentally. Given that magma are usually composed of large bulky fluid material such as SiO2, MgO, and molten Mg and Fe I wonder if CAF or some derivative would offer a better explanation, but yet I digress, we will have to be satisfied, for now, with doped RTILs, which I am more than excited to begin playing with (and by ‘playing’ I mean carefully and properly handling so as extract as much data out of them as physically possible).

Leave a Reply

