Breanna – Week 1 S2016

This past week I read through the paper that most of my summer research will be based on, which describes a stupidly cool technique called triboelectric extraction.  This sounds fancy but is basically just the use of a PVC eraser to extract collagen fibers from parchment, which is exactly what I’ll be doing with our resident 15th century illuminated manuscript.  In the coming weeks I’ll be working on understanding and preparing for the additional eZooMS processes beyond extraction that I’ll need to use.  These deal primarily with digesting the protein and analyzing it via time-of-flight mass spectrometry.  The simplified outline for what I’ll be doing is described in this video from the University of York, which is the birthplace of the new technique: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xBAXaLvGe5I

 

Leave a Reply

