Caren Sullivan–January 21st, 2016

Unfortunately we have been having trouble calibrating the Raman this past week so research has slowed a bit. However, in the meantime I have been planning for trying SSRS with a fluorescent dye, and I was thinking methyl red would be a good choice. I was able to find SERS spectra of methyl red for comparison and also prepared my methyl red solution in ethanol and water. I plan to take spectra of my methyl red solution using the 532nm laser and then will try SSRS on the (hopefully fluorescing–never thought I would say that!) data. Furthermore, I am in the process of recreating two bottles of ink (one in DI water; one in distilled white vinegar), such that I can compare to my previous bottles and see if any degradation may have occurred over winter break. Well, that’s it for now. Hopefully we can get the Raman working again soon!

Leave a Reply

