Caren Sullivan–January 14th, 2016

This week I am working towards using SSRS with a known standard: mercury (II) sulfide. So far, I have taken 532nm spectra using the 1200T grating. I took three spectra of the mercury (II) sulfide powder at the 0 cm^-1 spectrometer grating, three spectra at 20 cm^-1 spectrometer grating, and three spectra at 40 cm^-1 spectrometer grating. Using excel (in the future will use OriginPro), I averaged the three spectra at each spectrometer grating, respectively. Then, on OriginPro, I subtracted the averaged spectra at the 0 cm^-1 spectrometer grating from the averaged spectra at the 20 cm^-1 spectrometer grating. Tomorrow, I plan to continue the SSRS process on the spectra–hopefully finishing by the end of the weekend. I am also going to look for other references explaining different ways to properly take a derivative of a spectra, as well as whether the Rayleigh peak can be used to normalize the spectra. If all goes well with the SSRS process on mercury (II) sulfide, hopefully by next week I will be taking spectra of my inks and/or the manuscript!

Leave a Reply

